Newark and Sherwood District Council elects new Chair.

Posted on: Wednesday, May 22, 2024

Newark and Sherwood District Council appointed a new Chair and Vice-Chair during the Annual Council meeting on Tuesday 21 May.

Nominations were invited for the Chair by Councillor Celia Brooks as her final duty as Chair.  Councillor Jean Hall was nominated by Councillor Rowan Cozens, Deputy Leader of Newark and Sherwood District Council and seconded by Councillor Susan Crosby. She was then elected unanimously by council members. She will remain in office for the coming year.

Nominating Councillor Hall, Councillor Cozens said, “I’m very happy to nominate Councillor Jean Hall. I can’t think of a better person and we’re very proud of you. I’d also really like to thank you Celia for the amazing job you’ve done this year.”

Out-going Chair Councillor Celia Brooks said, “It has been a real privilege and honour for me to serve the district as Chair. I have also been lucky enough to get involved with some great events, I attended 7 different events with the Polish Community, I have learned a lot about Poland through these events and I’m encouraged to see that the links are so strong. Stage 4 of the Tour of Britain starting in Edwinstowe, which I have the honour to represent, and finishing in Newark was a joyous occasion to be involved in. But the greatest rewards come from serving all the communities across the district. The last event I attended as Chair was the opening of the new Boughton Community Hub last Saturday. It was a lively and positive event and will be a valuable new resource for the residents of Boughton. It would be good to open more of these in areas where they’d offer support and encouragement to local communities.”

Councillor Hall was previously the Vice -Chair of the Council. “Stepping up to be Chair is a great honour. Those who know me, will tell you that I entered politics to represent the people I live with, the residents of Balderton are so important to me.

“This new role will allow me to do this for all residents across the district. I have enjoyed standing by Councillor Brooks as her Vice-Chair and want to continue the great work she has done.”

Councillor Tift of Rainworth North and Rufford ward was elected unanimously as Vice-Chair, taking over from newly elected Chair Councillor Hall.

Councillor Paul Peacock added his thanks to Councillor Brooks, “For carrying out her role as chair, in her own way and in a way that best reflects the values of this council, patience, resilience and compassion. On behalf of the whole council, thank you.” He went on to congratulate the new Chair, Councillor Hall, adding that she lights up every room that she enters and that she has a wonderful rapport with people. “I’m delighted that you will be representing the council over the coming year and hope that you’ll enjoy every minute,” he concluded.