History and Heritage
The Archbishop of York's Palace and Sensory Gardens are exciting new visitor attractions. The Palace dates from the 14th Century and is the former home of Tudor statesman Cardinal Thomas Wolsey, who served under Henry VIII. It was here in 1530 that Cardinal Wolsey held his last frantic meetings to try and extricate himself from his failure to secure a divorce for Henry VIII from Catherine of Aragon. It is also a reasonable supposition that Charles I would have met his advisors here and, following his capture in Southwell, his arrest was formalised here and was certainly his first place of final imprisonment. With such a rich heritage, the State Chamber now makes an excellent and flexible resource space for exhibitions, conferences, social gatherings and community events.
Open daily 9am - 5pm
(On occasions the venue may be closed for special events. Please check the website.)
Museum dedicated to mining. We try to have at least an ex-miner to guide visitors round our displays/models and heritage displays. 01623 871533
Duke's Wood offers something a little different to the Nottinghamshire nature lover! As well as the eight hectares of deciduous woodland to explore, an industrial archaeological trail around the reserve reveals how this was the location of Britain's first onshore oilfield. (NOW LOCATED AT KELHAM HALL)
Between 1939 and 1966 an oilfield at Duke's Wood produced 280,000 tons of oil. The pumps used to get this oil out of the ground were known as 'nodding donkeys' and a few restored examples can be seen around the trail.
Open all the time but daylight visits recommended.
For Nature Reserve: 0115 9588242
For Oil Museum: 01623 882446
Kelham Hall and Country Park is a magnificent Victorian house built in 1863 and set within 44 acres of parkland in the Trent Valley. Once the ancestral home of the Manner-Sutton family, the hall also boasts use for a time as a theological college for an Anglican order of monks along with distinct design features by the renowned architect Sir Gilbert Scott.
Laxton is the only village in England which still practices the medieval strip farming method known as Open Field Farming. A trip to the Visitor Centre adjacent to the Dovecote Inn reveals the history of this ancient system including a 22 minute video and interpretation boards. Walks around the Open Field System available for a small donation.
Open daily, dawn to dusk.
Discover a world of wonders, with clocks, watches and timepieces with something guaranteed to get every imagination ticking! Find out more about the museum’s opening arrangements, how to find us, and all the information needed to plan your visit.
The National Civil War Centre is the only such attraction in the UK telling the complete story of the 17th century British Civil Wars. Scores of relics, film and interactive displays combine to tell the compelling story in the restored Grade II Old Magnus Building which began life as a Tudor Grammar school in 1532. Visitors can dress up in Civil War era clothing, have a game of Pikes and Ladders or take part in one of our themed trails as well as enjoy the various exhibits the Centre has to offer. Both the Nineteen20 Café Bar and the Newark Visitor Information Centre are located within the National Civil War Centre; the Visitor Information provides all bookings for the Palace Theatre and the National Civil War Centre.
Open April - September daily 10am-5pm, October to March Wednesday to Sunday 10am-4pm
Contact Newark Visitor Information Centre 01636 655765
The Holocaust centre provides a range of facilities for people of all backgrounds to explore the history and implications of the Holocaust. These include the Holocaust Exhibition and Memorial Museum, The Journey Exhibition, memorial gardens, bookshop and coffee shop. There are also seminar and research facilities for students, teachers, scholars, professionals and many others.
Open Sunday - Friday 10.00am - 4.30pm (Last Admission 15.30)
Check website for call for Sunday opening times and dates.
Newark Air Museum's diverse collection of more than 75 aircraft and cockpit sections covers the history of aviation. These range from the mighty Vulcan bomber right through to the diminutive Ward Gnome home-built air craft.
Extensive under cover displays including two aircraft display halls that house more than 48 aircraft and helicopters. The museum also displays a collection of aviation artefacts and more than 30 aero engines. On site there is an excellent cafe and an extensive shop which was once described as 'an aviation enthusiasts dream!'
Open daily March - October 10am - 5pm, November - February 10am- 4pm
Learn about local history with lectures run by the group on the first Wednesday of every month at Newark Library. Discover the history of this beautiful town by taking a guided walk with a member of the Newark Archaeological and Local History Society. Available all year round for small groups (appointment only).
Newark Castle has stood proudly on the banks of the River Trent in the historic market town of Newark-On-Trent for nearly 900 years. Partially destroyed following the English Civil War, the remaining walls of the Castle enclose beautifully refurbished Victorian gardens. Visitors can take a guided tour of the Castle's towers and dungeons, visit the exhibition in the north-west tower or enjoy one of the special events held each year, including summer band concerts, outdoor Shakespeare productions and historic re-enactments.
Open daily 8.30am-dusk
Join a unique walk around Newark and discover the town's spooky secrets.
Available all year round for small groups (appointment only).
In 2009 the Leicester Trader was taken from her long time resting place at the former Harkers shipyard in Knottingley back onto home waters to Newark where she has become a floating museum and heritage archive dedicated to the River Trent.
Open by appointment or on public open days (see website)
Newark Hidden Heritage Group
Newark Hidden Heritage Group is investigating the underground, hidden and lost heritage of Newark-on-Trent.
Underground and Hidden Heritage tours in Newark are available on selected dates or by appointment.
01636 655765 / firstname.lastname@example.org
Newark Town Hall is one of the finest in the country, designed in Palladian style in 1776 by the eminent architect John Carr of York. Rooms within the Town Hall form part of the museum and house a fine collection of civic treasures. Visitors can see the Council Chamber, Mayor's Parlour and the elegant Assembly Room, restored in 1990 to its former splendour. There is also a delightful fine art gallery which includes works by William Nicholson, Stanley Spencer and local artist Robert Kiddey. Temporary exhibitions are held in the adjacent Spotlight Gallery.
The museum is family-friendly with a wide variety of activities available all year round, including dressing up in Georgian or small mayoral gowns.
Open Mon - Sat 10.30am - 3.30pm, closed on Bank Holidays
The Queen's Royal Lancers and Nottinghamshire Yeomanry Museum tells the story of cavalry in the British Army, from the days of horseback charge, through the great tank battles of the Second World War, to present day operation in Iraq and Afganistan. A series of graphic panels and display cases, learning zones and video presentations, take visitors through our fascinating story. Our collection of arms, uniforms, medals, silver and paintings illustrate the regiments' part in the great battles of the last three centuries.
Open Mar - Nov, Wed - Sun 10.30am - 4.30om (last entry 4pm)
The Resource Centre is home to the reserve collections for the Museum Service. it houses diverse collections including Archaeology, Social History, Art and Costume. The centre hosts the popular museum enquiry and object identification service and guided tours are available upon request and for special events.
Open by appointment only
Southwell Minster is a superb Cathedral and Minster Church with a Norman nave which is one of the finest in Europe. Other features include the magnificent Angel Window and the world renowned stone carvings the "Leaves of Southwell" in the Chapter House.
The Visitor's Centre incorporates the Minster shop, refectory and the audio-visual centre. Events held throughout the year including concerts, craft and food fairs.
Open daily 7.30am - 7pm
Discover the most complete Workhouse in existence, built in 1824 as a place of last resort for the poor and needy. Hear its story told from the perspective of those who lived and worked here and imagine the austere rooms as they were in the 1840s.
Open from mid February until end of October Wed - Sun, 12 - 5pm