Featured events

Quick guide to our 'not to be missed' events

Sherwood Forest

Visit the brand new Sherwood Forest Visitor Centre and find out about the legend of Robin Hood and the ecology and wildlife of Sherwood Forest. Call in the nearby Sherwood Forest Arts and Craft Centre to browse the studio's and watch crafters and painters in action. The arts and craft centre offers children's activities each Wednesday during school holidays.

Sherwood Forest Spring Events  

  • Redstart Ramble
    Saturday 27 April, 8am to 10:30am
    Sherwood Forest Visitor Centre 
  • Woodlark Wander
    Sunday 28 April, 9:30am to 11:30am
    RSPB Budby South Forest 
  • Nightjar Walk
    Saturday 1 June, 8:45am to 11am
    Sherwood Forest Visitor Centre 
  • Bat Walks
    Friday 24 May, 8:30am to 10am
    Sherwood Forest Visitor Centre 
  • Medieval Coverlet Sewing Sessions
    Thursday 28 March, 12:30pm to 14:30pm
    Thursday 4 April, 10:30am to 12:30pm
    Thursday 25 April, 12:30pm to 14:30pm
    Thursday 2 May, 10:30 am to 12:30pm
    Thursday 30 May,12:30pm to 14:30pm
    Sherwood Forest Visitor Centre 

What’s on at Carriages

Carriages café is found right on the platform of the beautiful listed Newark Castle Station.

  • Friday 22 March 2.30pm to 3.30pm afternoon talk with Dr John Florance
  • Friday 22 March 6.30pm to 9pm Wine and words, an evening of poetry
  • Friday 29 March 2.30pm to 3.30pm Afternoon talk with Graham Keel
  • Saturday 30 March 10am to 3pm Green Emporium for all things eco from fixing bicycles to plastic free shopping
  • Thursday 16 May 6.30pm to 10.30pm I’m not dead yet disco, an over 65’s dance party

Find out about all carriages events

Come and fly a kite at Sconce and Devon Park with our local experts

  • Midland Kite Fliers Sunday 19 May 10am to 5pm

Village Ventures

The latest Village Ventures programme is now out and includes top class drama, comedy and music events in rural locations around the district including Coddington, Collingham, Rolleston, Southwell, North Muskham, Caunton, Norwell, Mapplebeck, South Scarle and South Clifton.

European Juggling Festival 3 to 11 August at Newark ShowgroundYou are invited to the world’s biggest juggling event!

EJC Newark! 3 to 11 August 2019

The team at the European Juggling Convention (EJC) 2019 are proud to be bringing the world's largest juggling event to the UK in August 2019. The EJC will be in its 42nd year and it hasn't been to the UK for many years but this year is coming to Newark Showground.

It’s a fun and chilled out week of juggling, circus skills, aerial workshops, western skills workshops, extreme unicycling, balloon modelling, world-class performances and shows... the list goes on.

All of the activities and camping is included in the ticket price. Visit the EJC website to find out prices and more information. All areas are accessible.

Save the date for the BIG DAY OUT on Sunday 4 August as we welcome the jugglers into Newark town centre for the opening parade and fire show.

Along with Newark Town Council we are sponsoring and helping to plan an extraordinary day of activities for the town.

Parkrun

Everyone is welcome on this free to enter 5k timed run.

There is a friendly atmosphere and loads of support so join us at your local parkrun Saturdays at 9am.

We have some brilliant parkrun venues in or around the district including Newark, Clumber Park and Sherwood Pines.

Newark Castle Events  

Dates for your diary, special markets in Newark 2019

  • Saturday 30 March and Sunday 31 March Spring Craft and Garden Show
  • Easter Sunday 21 April Artisan and Craft Food Market
  • Sunday 26 May Artisan and Craft Food Market
  • Saturday 15 June Newark Food and Drink Festival
  • Sunday 23 June Newark Armed Forces Day
  • Sunday 30 June Artisan and Craft Food Market
  • Friday 12 July to Sunday 14 July Newark Book Festival
  • Friday 19 July to Sunday 21 July Traditions Festival and Artisan Market
  • Sunday 28 July Artisan and Craft Food Market
  • Sunday 4 August European Juggling Convention – Bid Day Out!
  • Sunday 29 September Artisan and Craft Food Market
  • Sunday 24 November Christmas Lights Switch-on
  • Saturday 8, 14, 15 and 23 December Christmas Markets

All year round attractions

There is something for everyone in Newark and Sherwood:

Local towns

Newark and Southwell are both vibrant attractive towns with regular regular market days and special events.

Tourist Information Centres

For friendly specialist information on all local attractions and up and coming events visit one of our tourist information centres which are located in Newark and Southwell.

Local weather

If you're unsure due to weather conditions or other circumstances, please check with the tourist information centre before attending an event that it has not been cancelled. We try and keep our events lists as up to date as possible but events can be cancelled at the last minute.

Follow us on Twitter  Like us on Facebook   Follow us on Pinterest

Forthcoming Events

Are you organising a large event within the district? 

You need to tell us about the event as it may require consideration by the district's Safety Advisory Group (SAG)

  • 01636 650000

    Mon to Fri 9am to 5pm

    Customer Feedback

  • Get in touch:

    Castle House
    Great North Road
    Newark
    Notts
    NG24 1BY

Access Extranet