Polling Places Review

Review of Polling Districts and Polling Places

Under the Electoral Registration and Administration Act 2013 we must complete a review of our polling districts and polling places by 31 January 2015 and then at least once every 5 years.

The next scheduled review is due to commence on Monday 1 September 2014 and end on Friday 31 October 2014.

What does the review involve?

The review must be carried out to make sure that all electors have such reasonable facilities for voting as are practicable in the circumstances.

On commencing the review a notice will be published with details of the review, including when and where comments or representations can be made.

Any elector in the constituency may make a representation in relation to the size and boundaries of polling districts and the location and suitability of polling places. We also welcome comments or representations from any councillors in the area, past or potential candidates, local political parties and indeed any person or body with expertise in access for persons with any type of disability.

Please email your comments to voting@nsdc.info or post them to Newark and Sherwood District Council, Kelham Hall, Kelham, Newark, Notts, NG23 5QX.

On completion of the review we will publish all correspondence sent and received, details of the results of the review including any issues raised and indeed any changes which have been approved, giving the reasons for its decisions.

What is a Polling District?

A polling district is a geographical sub-division of an electoral area.

For voting purposes, each Parliamentary constituency and every local government ward is divided into one or more polling districts. Wherever possible the polling districts for local government elections mirror that agreed for parliamentary elections.

What is a polling place?

A polling place is a geographical area in which a polling station is located. However, there is no legal definition of what a polling place is.

It could be as large as the polling district or as small as a particular building.

What is a Polling Station?

A polling station is where the voting actually takes place and must be located within the polling place designated for the particular polling district.

You can have more than one polling station in a polling place.

When deciding which buildings to use as polling stations, we try to make sure that they are located as conveniently as possible for the majority of electors and that they are accessible to everyone, particularly anyone with a disability.

Thought must be given, for example, to the distance people have to travel to vote and any barriers to them getting there, such as major roads or rivers.


The following considerations will be taken into account when allocating polling districts and polling places. Comments made during the consultation should keep these in mind. The first two are required by electoral law and the others are best practice:

  • The council must seek to ensure that all electors have such reasonable facilities for voting as are practicable in the circumstances.
  • The council must seek to ensure that so far as is reasonable and practicable every polling place is accessible to electors who are disabled.
  • Ideally, the polling place should be in its own polling district.
  • No polling place should be shared by two wards.
  • Where possible, “natural” boundaries should be used, e.g. railways, major roads, etc.
  • All properties in a minor road or estate should, ideally, be in the same polling district.
  • Polling places should be “logical”; that is, electors, where possible, should not have to pass another polling place to get to their own.

Supporting documents

Acting Returning Officers Proposals

• Maps showing the Polling Place
• Polling Station Ward

Polling Places

Newark & Sherwood District Council is made up of 21 wards.

A review of the wards took place in 2014 by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England and their final recommendations were in place for the elections in May 2015.

You can either see a Map of all Wards (PDF File, 3,268kb) or you can select from the list below to view a map of each ward.

Balderton North & Coddington (PDF File, 5,283kb)
Balderton South (PDF File, 3,650kb)
Beacon (Newark) (PDF File, 5,937kb)
Bilsthorpe (PDF File, 3,284kb)
Boughton (PDF File, 4,117kb)
Bridge (Newark) (PDF File, 5,048kb)
Castle (Newark) (PDF File, 4,567kb)
Collingham (PDF File, 7,147kb)
Devon (Newark) (PDF File, 4,490kb)
Dover Beck (PDF File, 7,634kb)
Edwinstowe & Clipstone (PDF File, 4,376kb)
Farndon & Fernwood (PDF File, 7,081kb)
Farnsfield (PDF File, 3,303kb)
Lowdham (PDF File, 3,919kb)
Muskham (PDF File, 4,445kb)
Ollerton (PDF File, 6,109kb)
Rainworth North & Rufford (PDF File, 6,079kb)
Rainworth South & Blidworth (PDF File, 5,110kb)
Southwell (PDF File, 5,645kb)
Sutton-on-Trent (PDF File, 6,216kb)
Trent (PDF File, 5,859kb)

Polling Places

The District ward Summary of the Polling Places is as follows:

District Ward Summary
 Balderton North (PDF File, 186kb)
 Balderton West (PDF File, 196kb) 
 Beacon (PDF File, 197kb) 
 Blidworth (PDF File, 198kb)
 Boughton (PDF File, 199kb)
 Bridge (PDF File, 192kb)
 Castle (PDF File, 195kb)
 Caunton (PDF File, 362kb)
 Clipstone (PDF File, 193kb)
 Collingham & Meering (PDF File, 235kb)
 Devon (PDF File, 184kb)
 Edwinstowe (PDF File, 194kb)
 Farndon (PDF File, 238kb)
Farnsfield & Bilsthorpe (PDF File, 224kb)
 Lowdham (PDF File, 215kb)
 Magnus (PDF File, 198kb)
 Muskham (PDF File, 217kb)
Ollerton (PDF File, 204kb)
 Rainworth (PDF File, 199kb)
 Southwell East (PDF File, 186kb)
 Southwell North (PDF File, 179kb)
 Southwell West (PDF File, 192kb)
 Sutton on Trent (PDF File, 203kb)
 Trent (PDF File, 196kb)
 Winthorpe (PDF File, 204kb)


Contact us

Democratic Services
Newark and Sherwood District Council
Kelham Hall
NG23 5QX


01636 650000

Follow us on Twitter‌  Like us on Facebook‌  Follow us on Pinterest‌ Follow us on Instagram

  • 01636 650000

    Mon to Thurs 8.30am to 5.15pm
    Friday 8.30am to 4.45pm

    Customer Feedback

  • Get in touch:

    Newark and Sherwood District Council
    Kelham Hall
    NG23 5QX

Access Extranet