Rights of way

There are four different types of right of way:

Footpaths - these are marked with yellow arrows and should only be used on foot.

Bridleways - these are marked with blue arrows and can be used on foot, horseback and pedal cycles.

Restricted byways - these are marked with a plum coloured arrow and are open to walkers, cyclists, horse riders and vehicles that are not mechanically propelled (such as horse and cart).

Byways - these are marked with a red arrow and are open to all traffic.

Who is responsible for public rights of way? 

Nottinghamshire County Council is responsible for looking after the right of way network within Nottinghamshire.

Contact us


0115 977 2166

Countryside Access Group
Nottinghamshire County Council
Trent Bridge House
Fox Road
West Bridgford

On our website

  • 01636 650000

    Mon to Fri 9am to 5pm

    Customer Feedback

  • Get in touch:

    Castle House
    Great North Road
    NG24 1BY

Access Extranet